Thursday, 02 August 2012

Emmy-winning CNN Chief Medical Correspondent, Dr. Sanjay Gupta

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

UCSB Arts & Lectures announces the addition of an appearance by Sanjay Gupta, CNN’s Emmy-winning chief medical correspondent, to its Fall 2012 lineup. Dr. Gupta will present a talk on Medicine and Media on Sunday, October 21 at 3 p.m. at Arlington Theatre, as part of Arts & Lectures’ new Speaking of Health lecture series. Tickets go on sale Saturday, August 18 at 10 a.m.
 
Millions of TV viewers trust Dr. Gupta for their critical health information. The charismatic journalist, neurosurgeon and best-selling author will deliver an in-depth examination of the media’s role in reporting on today’s sometimes scary and shocking medical headlines. With examples from his own work – such as post-9/11 reports on anthrax – Dr. Gupta uses his unique expertise seen on programs like Anderson Cooper 360˚ and Sanjay Gupta, MD to address the responsibility of news reporting in the public health arena.
 
Speaking of Health, UCSB Arts & Lectures’ exciting and important new lecture series, features leading medical experts and journalists discussing the hot-button health issues of our day, from provocative new approaches to medicine and healing to the latest research on cancer and Alzheimer’s disease.
 
Tickets to Sanjay Gupta’s talk are $35 to $50 (Premium Seating) for the general public and $20 for UCSB students with a current student ID. For tickets or more information, call (805) 893-3535 or purchase online at www.ArtsAndLectures.UCSB.edu.

Read 3866 times

Next Event


Marisela
Sat Aug 19 @ 8:00PM
Category: Concert

Upcoming Events

Sat Aug 19 @ 8:00PM
Marisela
Concert
Sat Sep 02 @ 8:00PM
Ja Rule & Ashanti
Concert
Fri Sep 08 @ 7:00PM
Big Daddy Weave
Concert
Sat Sep 09 @ 8:00PM
HAIM
Concert
Tue Sep 19 @ 8:00PM
Explosions in the Sky
Concert
Wed Sep 20 @ 8:00PM
Fleet Foxes with Natalie Prass
Concert
Fri Sep 22 @ 8:00PM
Magic Men LIVE!
Dance/Ballet
Thu Oct 05 @ 8:00PM
An Evening With Samantha Bee
Comedy
Sat Oct 07 @ 8:00PM
Roberto Tapia
Concert
Wed Oct 11 @ 8:00PM
Father John Misty with Special Guest Weyes Blood
Concert