Sunday, 06 January 2013

SBIFF 2013 Opening Night Film – Disconnect

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The 28th Santa Barbara International Film Festival (January 24-February 3), presented by lynda.com, will open the 2013 Festival with the U.S. Premiere of LD Entertainment’s Disconnect, directed by Henry-Alex Rubin and starring Jason Bateman, Hope Davis, Frank Grillo, Paula Patton, Michael Nyqvist, Andrea Riseborough, Alexander Skarsgård and Max Thieriot. Opening night will take place at the Arlington Theatre on Thursday, January 24, 2013, with director and cast expected to attend.

“Disconnect is a visceral and timely film experience – and an extraordinary way to start the 28th edition of SBIFF,” remarked Executive Director Roger Durling.

With DiCaprio receiving the American Riviera Award and Disconnect opening the film festival, the Santa Barbara International Film Festival is proud to celebrate both an actor and a film that are in touch with today’s social and global issues and needs.

Disconnect holds a mirror up to our community and our obsession with all things technical. The story introduces us to a vast collection of characters: A lawyer, an estranged couple, a widowed ex-cop and an ambitious journalist who are all strangers, neighbors and colleagues whose stories collide in this compelling drama about ordinary people desperate for a human connection.

Filmed with a somewhat voyeuristic style, Disconnect marks the first fiction feature from Henry-Alex Rubin, director of the Oscar-nominated documentary Murderball, and is produced by Mickey Liddell and Jennifer Monroe of LD Entertainment and William Horberg of Wonderful Films from an original screenplay by Andrew Stern. Disconnect screened at the Venice Film Festival and the Toronto International Film Festival in 2012, and will be released by LD Entertainment on April 19, 2013.

To purchase tickets please click here.

Read 5550 times Last modified on Monday, 21 January 2013

Next Event


Pepe Aguilar
Thu Sep 29 @ 8:00PM
Category: Concert

Upcoming Events

Thu Sep 29 @ 8:00PM
Pepe Aguilar
Concert
Sat Oct 15 @ 7:30PM
Ramon Ayala
Concert
Tue Oct 18 @ 8:00PM
James Blake
Concert
Wed Oct 19 @ 8:00PM
Jethro Tull
Concert
Fri Oct 28 @ 8:00PM
Jimmy Eat World
Concert
Sat Oct 29 @ 8:00PM
Emmanuel
Concert
Thu Nov 03 @ 8:00PM
Joan Baez
Concert
Fri Nov 11 @ 8:00PM
Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue
Concert
Sat Nov 12 @ 8:00PM
John Cleese & Eric Idle
Comedy
Thu Dec 08 @ 7:30PM
Chris Tomlin with Matt Redman
Concert